The decrease in traffic during the COVID-19 shelter in place, has seen an increase in speeding tickets for driving over 100 mph.
‘From March 19, when the state’s stay-at-home order began, to April 19, the CHP issued 2,493 citations for speeding more than 100 mph, as compared with 1,335 during the same period last year.” (100-mph speeding tickets soar statewide: Gary Richards, Roadshow
Dangers and consequences of speeding
As reported by Gary Richards in the San Jose Mercury News, in April, a driver, not wearing a seat belt, going 100 mph on Highway 4 died after losing control and slamming into a barrier. Also in April, two people not wearing seat belts were killed on Interstate 680 when their clipped a truck going 100 mph.
More patrols are coming, according to Mr. Richards and the 700 electronic highway signs will display safety-related messages.
Speeding over 100mph and the California Vehicle Code
The California Vehicle code (Section 22348b) punishes driving at a speed greater than 100 miles per hour is guilty as an infraction:
(1) A first conviction carries punishment of a fine not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500). The court may also suspend the driving privilege for a period not to exceed 30 days pursuant to Section 13200.5.
(2) For a second offense offense that occurs within three years of a prior offense resulting in a conviction of an offense a fine of up to seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) may be assessed. The driving privilege will be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 13355.
(3) For speeding over 100 mph, within five years of two or more prior convictions of offenses under this subdivision, a fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000) may be imposed. The person’s driving privilege shall be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 13355.
Points on your driving record
Traffic tickets are assigned from 1 – 2 points and an accident is assigned 1 point.
Tickets for speeding, running a red light, making an unsafe lane change, or having an at-fault accident, will result in a point on your driving record.
Convictions for reckless driving,including driving over 100 mph, hit-and-run, driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs, or driving while suspended or revoked, will result in two points on your record.
Most points (illegal turn, not making a complete stop, driving over the speed limit, etc.) and/or accidents will stay on your driver record for 39 months (3 years, 3 months). Points for more serious offenses, such as hit-and-run or a DUI, will stay on your record for 13 years.
Points on your driving record will impact your driving privilege and how much you will pay for car insurance. Points may adversely affect employment which’s involves driving. (Source: State of California DMV https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/teenweb/more_btn6/points/)
Expanded DMV on-line services
(Source:Sacramento Bee, California DMV has new online services. Here’s what you can do without ever leaving home, Andrew Sheeler, May 05, 2030
The Department of Motor Vehicles DMV reopened select offices to assist customers with existing appointments and with limited select transactions that require an in-person visit. Customers are required to wear a facial covering in DMV offices. DMV has extended all driver licenses that expire between March and May 2020 and has expanded eligibility to renew online. (https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/dmv/offices)
These services are offered online:
o apply for a duplicate driver’s license (about 1 million Californians lose their license each year and request a duplicate);
o request a copy of your driving record;
o do a title transfer;
o renewing your registration;
o requesting a duplicate vehicle title;
o getting a temporary driver’s license extension.
A visit to a DMV office is required for these services which may be available in May or June.
o driving tests;
o activities that require taking a photograph;
o reinstating a revoked license;
o restoring a suspended registration of a vehicle.